Perkiomen Valley High School Home Page
« August 2014 »
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6

 

Username:
Password:
ATHLETICS & CLUBS
Click to access activity/club website

ATHLETICS  
For information see Mr. Glanski – Athletic Director : lglanski@pvsd.org
 
Fall Sports                
Boys & Girls Cross Country
Field Hockey 
Football
Freshman Football
Golf 
Boys Soccer 
Girls Soccer      
Girls Tennis
Girls Volleyball
Water Polo
Cheerleading
Winter Sports 
Boys Basketball
Girls Basketball   
Boys & Girls Indoor Track
Wrestling 
Cheerleading 
Spring Sports
Baseball
Softball
Boys Lacrosse
Girls Lacrosse
Boys Tennis
Boys & Girls Track & Field
 

 
AMNESTY INTERNATIONAL–  Mr. Lawler (mlawler@pvsd.org)
Raise awareness and promote activism on behalf of human rights around the world. Open to all grades.  


ASTRONOMY CLUB –  Mr. Lavanga (tlavanga@pvsd.org)
The Astronomy Club aims to bring the magnificence of the Universe down to Earth and make it accessible to PV students and the surrounding community. Observation nights will be planned throughout the year. Telescopes will be used to observe a multitude of celestial objects and phenomena, including craters and mountains on the Moon, planets such as Saturn and its system of rings, comets, and deep-sky objects such as the Andromeda Galaxy. Common misconceptions in astronomy will also be addressed. The club is open to any student in good academic standing.
 
BIG Brothers/Big Sisters – Miss Moliver (kmoliver@pvsd.org)
Qualifying high school students are paired with elementary students who have demonstrated a real need for a role model/mentor. You will meet with your little “brother” or little “sister” after school at one of our elementary schools. 

B.O.L.D. -
Mrs. Rice (trice@pvsd.org)
Meetings: room 129, the first and third Tuesday of each month.

BOLD is an acronym for Building Opportunities, Leading Destinies. The purpose of this new club is to provide leadership and creative opportunities to our entire student body, with a strong focus on our minority students.  Meetings are held in  room 129, the first and third Tuesday of each month after school.

BRITAIN BOUND - Mrs. Riehl (sriehl@pvsd.org)


CHESS CLUB – Mr. Rudolph (arudolph@pvsd.org)
This club will provide students with an opportunity to play fellow students and faculty. You will deepen your knowledge of chess and improve your higher level thinking skills.
 
DEBATE – Mr. Heidt (gheidt@pvsd.org)
For detailed information please refer to our school website, under “high school”, then “student activities”, then “Forensics Team”.
 
ENVIROTHON - Ms. Lilick (rlilick@pvsd.org)
Enhance the environmental standards with hands-on activities and county/state competition in forestry, soils, wildlife, aquatics and current events. You will also perform environmental service related activities such as plant rescue, improvement of our own facility and teaching younger children. Please check out our My Big Campus page for more information.
 
FALL PRODUCTION - Ms. Yerkes (kyerkes@pvsd.org
Any student in good academic standing may audition for cast or participate as a member of crew.  Auditions are early September with two performances in early to mid November.  Rehearsals are after school, some Saturdays and some evenings.   In addition, some performers may be invited to participate at the West Chester University's High School Theatre Festival in the Spring. For more information, please contact Ms. Eskin.

FASHION DESIGN CLUB – Mrs. Berardi (dberardi@pvsd.org)
Students who have taken the Fashion & Clothing constructor 1 course can meet to continue to improve their skills.
 

FELLOWSHIP OF CHRISTIAN ATHLETES – Mrs. Rice (trice@pvsd.org)

FRENCH CLUB – Mrs. Carfagno (gcarfagno@pvsd.org), Mrs. Yanez (dyanez@pvsd.org)
The club will expand your exposure to the French language and culture by watching French films, celebrating French holidays and visiting a French restaurant.
 
GAY/STRAIGHT ALLIANCE – Ms. Gambeski(egambeski@pvsd.org
 
HISTORY CLUB–  Mr. Lawler (mlawler@pvsd.org)
Discuss and celebrate key events, figures, trends, etc in European, American and World History. Open to all grades.


INTERACT CLUB
- Mrs. Burg & Mrs.Kelley (
mburg@pvsd.org, kakelley@pvsd.org
This is a service club that is open to all PVHS students. Members will work on both local and international community service projects. Members will also assist the Collegeville Rotary Club and Central Perkiomen Rotary Club with annual fundraisers and projects. Consistent attendance at meetings and participation in projects are club requirements. 

JAPAN EXCHANGE CLUB – Ms. Elser (welser@pvsd.org)
This is a curriculum related club made up of students who host our Japanese “sisters” and who wish to travel to Japan through the exchange. PVHS has had an exchange partnership with Kamakura Jogakuin Girls School in Japan for over 30 years. You will learn about Japanese culture, language, food and lifestyles.
 
KEY CLUB –  Ms. Curcio (maucurcio@pvsd.org)
This club is open to any PVHS student. This club is a service organization serving our high school and community. There is a $15 membership fee.
 
LITERARY MAGAZINE – Mrs. Riehl (sriehl@pvsd.org)
 
MATH CLUB - Mrs. Rice (trice@pvsd.org), Mrs. Verbeke (sverbeke@pvsd.org)  
The purpose of the Math Club is to bring together students who are interested in mathematics and expose them to challenging problems, puzzles, and other fun math activities. Club members will have the opportunity to participate in the Pennsylvania Math League and prepare for the AMC.  The club meets every Friday in Room 303.  All are welcome to join!
 
MUSICALS – Mr. Griffie (tgriffie@pvsd.org)
Any student may audition. Auditions are held in late fall, and rehearsals are after school, Saturdays and some evenings. There is one musical with four performances. For more information check out www.pvmb.org.
 
NATIONAL HONOR SOCIETY – Mrs. Behl (abehl@pvsd.org), Ms. Kissel (lkissel@pvsd.org)
In order to be considered for this club you need to have earned a 3.75 GPA. You must also demonstrate excellence in service, leadership and character. To remain in this club, you must maintain the standards for which you were inducted. Students who are eligible must obtain an activity form, which must be returned by the posted deadline. 
 
NEWSPAPER – Mr. D'Andrea (ddandrea@pvsd.org)
This club is open to any PVHS student. You will use journalism skills to publish a monthly newspaper by and for the PVHS student body. 

ONE WORLD CLUB – Mrs. Verbeke (sverbeke@pvsd.org)
This club aims to provide students with the opportunity to learn about and experience some of the many different cultures from around the world in order to promote respect, tolerance, and unity. Also, this club will raise funds and awareness to benefit international humanitarian and human rights causes thus making the world a better place and fostering a sense of global citizenship among our students.


READING OLYMPICS - Mrs. Kelley (kakelley@pvsd.org), Mrs. Lainhart (klainhart@pvsd.org), Ms. Paulus (kpaulus@pvsd.org)
Reading Olympics’ goal is to generate and encourage excitement about reading. Anyone in grades 9-12 are welcome to join. Students must maintain academic eligibility to compete on the team.
 
SCIENCE OLYMPIAD TEAM – Ms. Cutillo (mcutillo@pvsd.org)
The Science Olympiad Team meets weekly to prepare for a regional science competition against 30 other schools in Southeastern PA. The team competes at Cabrini College in February. Activities include construction of a robot, engineering and building a tower and a car designed to stop before it hits a terminal barrier, and preparation for numerous laboratory and knowledge based events.

 
SIGN LANGUAGE CLUB - Ms. Amico (aamico@pvsd.org), Ms. Scherer (ascherer@pvsd.org)

SKI AND SNOWBOARD CLUB – Mr. Pennebacker (dpennebacker@pvsd.org), Miss Carr (kcarr@pvsd.org)
Each year the PVHS Ski and Snowboard Club takes local trips to various mountains across Northeastern PA. We have traveled to Elk Mountain, Blue Mountain, Snow Mountain, Bear Creek and Camelback. Additionally, the club takes a trip to Vermont to ski at different resorts. If you are interested in joining or taking a trip with us, please contact Miss Carr or Mr. Pennebacker in room 112 or by email. Think snow!
 
STAR (Challenge Day)–  Mrs. Behl (abehl@pvsd.org)
 
STUDENT FORUM – Mr. Costello (jacostello@pvsd.org)
This club is open to any PVHS student.  You will organize activities and raise money for charities. Your aim is to increase school spirit. The club’s main goal is to try to get the student body involved in their school with projects like the student/faculty basketball game, a kickball tournament, and penny wars.
 
 
TAKE ACTION CLUB - Mr. Craven (jcraven@pvsd.org), Ms. Giorgio (jgiorgio@pvsd.org)
 

ULTIMATE FRISBEE CLUB – Mr. Rude (
jrude@pvsd.org)
The club is a supportive competitive inclusive co-ed group that uses Ultimate Frisbee as a method of getting into and staying in good physical shape. We will practice two times per week and participate in a few tournaments. If you seek a sport that is fun, fast-paced and little bit different come and join us for a practice.

YEARBOOK – Mr. Komp (tkomp@pvsd.org)
YEARBOOK - Business Advisor - Mrs. Elser (welser@pvsd.org)
 
 

 
MUSIC ORGANIZATIONS

Band 
Mr. Overholtzer  
doverholtzer@pvsd.org

Marching Band
Wind Ensemble 
Jazz Band     
Brass Ensemble  
Percussion Ensemble
Indoor Colorguard
Chorus   
Mr. Griffie    
tgriffie@pvsd.org 

Jazz Choir 
Women’s Choir 
Men’s Choir   
Orchestra
Mr. Suloman
ssuloman@pvsd.org

Chamber Orchestra
 
                                                                
 
 
Site Map | Privacy Policy | View "printer-friendly" page | Login   In Japanese  In Korean  En français  Auf Deutsch  In italiano   No português  En español  In Russian  
Site powered by SchoolFusion.com © 2014 - Educational website content management